## **RESEARCH AWARDS**

## B.H. Walpoth, MD

1990	"Le Grand prix du Jury" of the International NMR Meeting in Lyon Assessment of Cardiac Rejection with Nuclear Magnetic
1993	Resonance with and without Immunosuppressive Therapy Second prize of the Euroanaesthesia Meeting 1993 in Berne 1993 Quality control of different methods of autologous blood
	salvage in cardiac surgery
1993	Ernst-Derra-Prize of the German Society for Thoracic and
	Cardiovascular Surgery MR Spectroscopy for assessing
4005	myocardial rejection in the transplanted rat heart
1995	Award of the Swiss Society for Research in Surgery (SSRS)  Assessment of Troponin-T for detection of cardiac
1996	rejection. Prize of the Schweiz. Rundschau für Medizin (with Th. Locher)
	Differenzialdiagnose des Kreislaufstillstandes hypothermer Lawinenopfer: retrospektive Analyse von 32 Lawinenunfällen
1999	Arbeitsgruppe Herzinsuffizienz (young investigator award with D.
	Springe) Einfluss der mechanischen Kreislauf-unterstützung auf den koronaren Blutfluss"
2005	Turkish Society for Vascular Surgery (Best Young Investigator
	Prize with Dr. Mustafa Cikirikcioglu)
2005	European Society for Vascular Surgery (ESVS), prize for the
	Annual Mtg, Japanese Society for Vascular Surgery,
	Hokkaido, Japan (with Dr. Mustafa Cikirikcioglu)
	New biodegradable scaffolds for vascular tissue engineering:
	from the polymer to the rat aorta.
2005	European Society for Surgical Research. Walter Brendel
0005	Awardee Session, 3 <sup>rd</sup> position (with Dr. Mustafa Cikirikcioglu)
2005	Société Suisse pour la Science des Animaux de Laboratoire
2006	Prix 2005 (with Dr. Vet Med Suzanne Osorio-da Cruz)
2006	Research prize: French Society of Vascular Surgery,
	Research prize: Italian Society of Vascular Surgery (with Dr. Damien Mugnai)
2007	ESAO Annual Meeting, Krems, Austria (Best Poster Award with
2007	Dr. Mustafa Cikirikcioglu)
	Planimetric analysis of implanted electrospun PDS-PLA
	grafts in the rat systemic arterial circulation
2008	European Society for Cardio-Vascular Surgery, ESCVS
	(Young Vascular Surgeon Prize with Dr. Damiano Mugnai)
	Experimental aortic replacement in a rat model with
	degradable synthetic vascular prosthesis
2008	ESAO Annual Meeting, Geneva (Wichtig Award with Dr.
	Benjamin Nottelet)
	Factorial design optimization and in vivo feasibility of poly(e- caprolactone)-micro- and nanofiber small diameter vascular grafts
2008	Turkish Society for Cardiovascular Surgery (1 <sup>st</sup> Research Award
2000	with Dr. Erman Pektok)
	Degradation and healing characteristics of small-diameter
	poly(e-caprolactone) vascular grafts in the rat systemic
	arterial circulation

arterial circulation

	2009	Prix Denber-Pinard 2009: Luminal coating of small diameter ePTFE vascular grafts with inorganic and organic materials: effects on neo-endothelialisation, intimal hyperplasia and patency (For Thesis with: Dr. M. Cikirikcioglu, Faculté de Médecine 2009)
	2009	Best Student Prize from the European Society of Biomaterials Lausanne, September (with Sarra de Valence):  Assessment of Paclitaxel in the prevention of vascular
	2012	graft intimal hyperplasia formation. Wichtig Award from the European Society for Artificial Organs (ESAO), Rostock, September (with Sarra de Valence):  Long term performance of polycaprolactone vascular
	2012	grafts in a rat abdominal aorta replacement model Prix Marie-Claude Marti, Geneva, October (Damiano Mugnai).  Experimental noninferiority trial of synthetic small-caliber biodegradable versus stable vascular grafts
	2016	INNOGAP, Unitec, Geneva, Combined Mesh Graft
AWARDS	2008	Trophy of Excellence in the Science of Artificial Organs from the International Federation for Artificial Organs for Scientific Accomplishments
	2014	ESSR Lifetime Achievement Award for surgical research